Bed Canopies – Bud House Inspiration

March 15, 2011 § 4 Comments

My passion for design started when I was very young, about 8 years old or so. I began drawing floor plans of my bedroom before I even knew what a floorplan was. I would save all of my allowance, and whatever I made from babysitting (a whooping 5 dollars an hour) so that I could later buy decor for my room, like curtains and bedsheets. And instead of a little lemon aid stand, I had a pillow stand, which I hand sewed and stuffed myself.
When I was about 11, I wanted nothing more than a canopy bed and that became my very first project. My sweet dad got me some beautiful white, fabric and taught me how to dye it, sew it, and then how to turn it into a canopy by using a hula hoop. We took a pink hula hoop, cut a section out of it so that when we reattached it wasn’t as large, put the fabric on and then hung the canopy from a few ceiling hooks. It was beautiful and perfect. I am very proud of my eleven year old self for that canopy.
Come August I will be moving to my new place, which I will refer to as ‘Bud House,’ and I am finding inspiration for my new canopy bed.

A beautiful silk panel canopy bed

Tagged: , , , , ,

§ 4 Responses to Bed Canopies – Bud House Inspiration

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Bed Canopies – Bud House Inspiration at Bleue Pièce.

meta

