Color Inspiration – Mushroom Hunting

February 8, 2013 § Leave a comment

During the holidays I went back to San Francisco to see my family and of course, go mushroom picking with my father. Our mushroom of choice, chanterelles. Nutty rich golden goodness…

This year has been a surprisingly disappointing year for mushroom gathering, at least in Northern California. Last year we had around 100 pounds of chanterelles! After one gathering we had seven cookie sheets of mushrooms that were monopolizing the dining room table! This year I don’t think we even made it to a pound, but we did however find enough to make two lovely chanterelle pizzas.

Without the abundance of chanterelles, this year I focused more on the other pretty things in the forest and took this photo of a witches butter mushroom. I love the combination of the moss green, lichen green and tangerine orange. I think it would make a lovely color scheme in a room. I have always been inspired by color combinations in nature. If it naturally grows together in nature, it must be meant to be.

Witches Butter

Witches Butter

Chanterelle on my knee

Chanterelle on my knee

Gills of a mushroom

Gills of a mushroom

Young Turkey Tails

Young Turkey Tails

Coral Mushrooms

Coral Mushrooms

Tagged: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Color Inspiration – Mushroom Hunting at Bleue Pièce.

meta

